Home > Cougar Sightings > 20 years later…

20 years later…

Every parting is a form of death, as every reunion is a type of heaven. –  Tryon Edwards
 
2008 the year we make contact? 
 
My first thoughts of the new year are centered around friends from the past and the thought that some of them are thinking about the class of 1988 and a 20 year reunion. 
 
A few days before Christmas I got a call from Dan Vogt saying he was going to have a long lay over between here and Alaska.  We are going to try to get together.  Maybe play a little X-Box.  I think he only will play my moto-cross game if he can wear all green and ride a Kawasaki – (Old habbits die hard I guess).
 
I got another call during Christmas break from Mitch Harrison, what a great suprise.   It was nice to catch up with an old buddy and talk about Chewelah, mudding in a field along 395, and the good old days before mortgages and having to get up to work everyday.  I would definately not trade the life I have now to be locked into a perpetual "summer break" between my junior and senior years of high school, but the things we did and people we hung out with were sure great to think about.
 
Right after the new year I also got emails from Kim, Matt, and Cathi all giving me a shout out and a "best for 2008".  Like the out of the blue call from Mitch it was nice to hear from some old friends and got me thinking about this summer and a class reunion.
 
2 days go by…
 
When it rains it pours (funny me being near Seattle…)  While this entry sat in a draft state I got an email from another class mate (Rachel R.) and the topic of it being 2008 and what is up with the reunion surfaced again.  I guess a lot of people have the same thing on their minds.
 
I am no event planner and not sure what official responsibility our 1988 class officers still have when it comes to planning these events, but I do hope that someone will take the baton and run with it.  On a side note I think I penciled in Dan Vogt to be our president and Bob Nelson to be his secretary, I really thought Dan deserved to have a secretary with long blonde hair… (but I am now going off topic…)
 
Yahoo!
 
I created an 88Cougs group site on Yahoo (Click Me!) and hope that this will help "corral the cats" in a way we can share information and touch base not only for our 20 year reunion but also far into the future.  (I prefer Live Search & Live Spaces but I know several people are part of John May’s 80’s Cougar Uber site).  The 88Cougs site is setup as secure and private so any personal information you add will be hidden from the public, what you add is also totally up to you and optional.  Feel free to just visit the site and see what information ends up being made available.
 
Congratulations to Rennie Howard for being the first official member. 
 
Happy New Year!  2008 is off to a good start so far!
Categories: Cougar Sightings
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

