Home > WWJD > Christian or Golfer?

Christian or Golfer?

Golf… is the infallible test. The man who can go into a patch of rough alone, with the knowledge that only God is watching him, and play his ball where it lies, is the man who will serve you faithfully and well.P. G. Wodehouse

 
It never fails that during an election year many people are talking about the liberals and conservatives and what they "believe".  Everyone wants to get votes so they all are religious but not "too" religious.  At present we have a Methodist and a United Church of Christ person on the left and 2 Baptists on the right.  For a while there was a Mormon, and a couple Roman Catholics in the running.
 
I was thinking about a simple question and what each of them would have said as their answer.  A dialog may have gone something like this…
 
Me – Are you Saved?
Them – Saved?
 
Me – Are you a Christian?
Them – I am Catholic. (Using Rudy as my example…)
 
Me – I did not ask what church you attend.  Are you a believer?
Them – I believe in God.
 
Me – Is Christ your Lord and Savior?
Them … I go to church every Sunday and do a lot of things my church.
 
Me – Do you Golf?
Them – What?
 
Me – …
 
Well, golf is like a lot of religions out there.  People spend a great deal of time on the course, I have an uncle who I think would play every day if he could and probably twice on Sundays.  There is a specific set of routines you do every time you go.  Everyone kind of does the same thing and some people probably do not even know why they are doing it.  Some people get so good at golfing that they really don’t even have to think about it.  It feels like a nice club to be in (like the Elks, or Moose I imagine).  Some people even say they feel close to God when playing (and I know that some times his name is used….).
 
Me – Yes I have a point and it should be as clear as that sand trap your balls are in.
 
There are many different golf courses you can play and even different variations of golf, take crochet for example.  Not all courses lead to the same pin.  Not all pins should be your target.  There is only one Pin worth aiming for.
 
My prayer –
  1. My family and friend regardless of the brand of religion they may choose that they would find a real relationship with Christ.
  2. My family and friends who know more about golf than God, that they would also seek and choose God.
  3. People who feel like they are playing the game right and don’t have a clue that they are a million miles from where they should be.
 
  
 
Categories: WWJD
  1. Robert
    March 1, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    VERY well said. Hmmm, poet, philosopher, architect and geek. I think that qualifies you as a renaissance man.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

