Home > WWJD > I Give Up!

I Give Up!

I get a little behind during Lent, but it comes out even at Christmas.Frank Butler
 
Today is Palm Sunday.  We were challenged this morning at church to give up a couple specific things next week (starting in an hour and a half).
 
In the past Trish and I have given up coffee and pop and other things we enjoy and are used to partaking in too much.  40 days caffeine free was not as hard as I thought it would be.  I did it for several years.  This year I did not even think about lent until we got to church this morning.
 
The challenge – No TV or video games for one week.  Hmmm, I like my TV and my recent addiction to Rock Band is part of my nightly routine…
 
We discussed it and TeamBlank decided that we are all in.  To make it clear we listed the things that we consider TV or video games.
 
The List
  • TV
  • Video Games
  • Computer Games
  • Recorded TV
  • VHS, DVD, or Betamax
  • Streaming video from the web
  • Xbox Games
  • Nintendo Games
  • Nintendo DS
  • Bubbles or other Pocket PC Games on Trish’s Trio
  • Moto-Racer and anything else I have on my mobile phone.
  • Twitter.com – Yes Twitter is like a game to me!  (Bob are you with me brother?)
  • All social networking sites such as Facebook or Myspace
  • This blog – If it is digital and too fun I will be adding it to my list
  • Extra email to fill the gap

Specific things that are digital or media I will be keeping

  • Doing my job – Requires a PC
  • Email in the evening but not too exceed the must have
  • Music – While working or driving – not Rock Band!

The Grey Area

  • My Garmin 76CSx – I have a caching trip planned Saturday morning.  GPS was not on any list I saw!

 

That is about it I guess.  My last blog and my last tweet for a week.  I got my fill of Rock Band earlier today and I am going to head upstairs now and watch TV until 11:59.

If you are looking for a service this Sunday please feel free to join us.

He Reigns

http://www.canyonhillscommunitychurch.com/

 

Categories: WWJD
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

