Home > WWJD > Lessons Learned

Lessons Learned

For me art and chess are closely related, both are forms in which the self finds beauty and expression.Vladimir Kramnik
 
First things First – Happy Easter!
 
A week of no media.  A not so in depth recap:
 
Monday night we were busy at friends and so the idea of no media did not seem very real.  Tuesday however I got home from work and a nice sit on the couch with the news on would have been a great way to deflate.  Instead the TV was grey and I missed the normal "noise" that came from it.  I actually found it a bit unnerving that I could not unwind while zoning out on the TV.
 
The neighbor kids came over and had less options.  It was Lego, cars, or crafts instead of the normal DS, DVDs, or Xbox.

Dolls

 
Abbe took me into the "Upper Deck" (that is the officially name for my office and our home school room) and showed me the creations she had been working on.  Sewing… that is odd I thought.  Very "Little House" like.  Having no DS or TV brought out a new side of Abbe that I had not seen for a while.
 

Chess

 
Wednesday I saw something else new.  Gabe and Abbe were trying to play chess.  They did not really have all the rules down but they were still looking for new things to do that were not on their normal list.  Later that night Gabe actually beat me at a game.  I of course was not being 100% aggressive but I did end up getting cornered and I had no place to go.  The next day Gabe and Zack (a neighbor) actually played chess for a couple hours.
 
Thursday night we had a great evening with board games on the carpet. 
 
Trish’s mom came up Friday with 2 of her grandbabies.  They are almost 2 years and the other 6 months.  We spent a lot of time "watching" them as well as chasing after them. 
 
This morning (Easter Sunday) we woke up and both my kids had low grade fevers.  I guess having a media fast end on the same day that my kids have been on the couch all day not moving a muscle shows how great God’s timing is.
 
The bottom line message of the week for me is that we have a lot of other things to do besides TV and Computers.  I don’t think I will be trading my Rock Band drum sticks in for knitting needles any time soon but I do think shutting down the systems now and then is a good idea.
 
I am off to watch my recorded LOST episode…
 
 
 
The great gift of Easter is hope – Christian hope which makes us have that confidence in God, in his ultimate triumph, and in his goodness and love, which nothing can shake.  – Basil C. Hume

Categories: WWJD
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

